Mini Maker Move : Design a PSU with espresso lite v2.0 [Part I – Introduction]

Few months ago, I attended a introductory course by Cytron Technologies. It was about espresso lite v2.0, a tiny development board that has wifi capabilities. The board cored with  well known ESP8266 SOC, produced by Shanghai-based technology company, Espressif Systems. ESP8266 is so popular and now you can see a lot of IoT makers do their projects by using this chip.

img_20161228_224215

Surprisingly this SOC embedded with Cadence licensed core, 32 bits Xtensa LX106 running at 80 MHz. This means this SOC capable to do any stuff that other microcontroller would do. We don’t really need to connect to other board, this small part can work independently.

Okay, after back from the course, I just abandoned the board beneath my bed for few months. It is time to do something else it is going sleep there forever. So I am going to make myself a power supply unit, or PSU in short, but this time I want to control the device through online web or mobile apps.

YES, I want my PSU go online.

As a fans of eevblog host by David L. Jones, a popular Youtube contributor that mainly discuss wide variety of electronics stuff in his channel. He published a series of videos 4 years ago to discuss how to design a proper power supply unit. He has total of 14 videos discuss this topic and  I think this is the best way we can start our project by having his design as reference.

So according to Dave, this design has specifications as below:

Specifications:
0-20.48V constant voltage output
0-1A constant current limiting
Load current display 40mA (10uA resolution), 80mA (20uA resolution), 160mA (40uA resolution), 320mA (80uA resolution), or 1A (1mA resolution)
Optional Ethernet Interface
Arduino programming compatible (emulates an Arduino pro)
Powered from 2 x 18650 Lithium Ion cells

Since our beloved Ringgit currency down to deep valley, I don’t really feel like want to spend more into buying all new components, perhaps my ‘collection’ of my old components will help a little bit on this.

img_20161228_223851

I abandoned them since graduated from university :p

In fact we don’t really need all of them stated in schematic especially stuff like Arduino AVR Microcontroller since we have ESP8266 SOC. We will further discuss about the hardware hopefully at Part 2.

 To avoid too much external hardware appear on my panel, I will only allow display and output ports attach on it. I am not sure how practical it will be but for now it just sound fine for me. 🙂

capture

Draft only, based on first imagination

Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

